top of page

COMMON THREADS

Town and Country #1

Over the last few weeks I have been lucky enough to do a little bit of travelling with some amazing friends.

Firstly, I spent a few days with my fellow Common Threads artists (as mentioned by Nic in last week's blog post). On the Thursday we travelled in to London for the day. The main focus of this was to attend a talk given by Wallace Sewell in the evening but we took advantage of our being in the capital to visit various exhibitions/museums.

By the time it got to the afternoon I had brain ache from far too much inspirational input; amazing structures, textures and colours everywhere I looked. This meant that, as usual, I was too busy soaking in all the sights and forgot to photograph everything that I wanted to!

I made a 'collage' of some of the few pictures that I did take and noticed a very grid like and linear structure to them.

The Shard + V&A Museum, London

I really need to build up my confidence in 'sketching' or at least mark making to try and capture the atmosphere of places as well as just the visuals captured by photographs. I feel very self conscious in public in case someone tries to look at what I'm doing!

I'd like to capture the feeling of rushing, noise, excitement and energy from that day. I can still do that from memory of the day as a whole but, as there were different atmospheres in the different locations, it would be easier/better? to try and get them down as they happen.

The images and the feeling of the day are making me think of quite structural woven pieces in fine, smooth yarns; possibly with lots of space left within the structure to allow for movement of threads to disrupt the grid of the warp and weft OR insertion of inlay threads/supplementary warp/weft threads.

This would give me representation of the solidity of the architecture AND the movement and randomness of the humans moving in and around it.

The colours would probably be cooler hues with some level of sheen even if only subtle.

Part two of this topic will be posted soon, tackling the 'country' part of the theme.

I'd be interested to hear if there are any buildings, cityscapes, landscapes or environments that inspire you!

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW US
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page