top of page

COMMON THREADS

Sight and Taste

I should have started writing this a while ago, while it was fresh in my mind, but, it seems, a period of gestation has been beneficial. So much has happened in recent times that a wave of euphoria and unreality has been the a continuous companion.

To bring you up to date: we had a meeting at Bradford Cathedral to discuss the possibility of being part of their centenary celebrations. This was productive, and we will being exhibiting there in October/November 2019.

We also had a meeting with Hannah Lamb at Bradford School of Art, our Alma Mater, to talk about the possibility of staging a 'One Year On' as part of next year's Summer Exhibition. This too was productive. Gosh.

In addition, each of us is considering entering The Bradford Textile Society Competition next year. We are at the first stage at present, contemplating the available yarns and experimenting with what each might produce within the rules of entry. All this and Christmas too!

With regard to what I am making at the moment, I am exploring ideas of Iceland, looking at the ice and the fire, in order to do what justice I can to our current Common Thread, Sally's Icelandic wool. These are the images from which I am working.

These are the colours for one of the products that I have in mind. The Icelandic yarn is a dark grey, strong and a bit coarse. I am looking at using softer orange and yellow yarns as the lava flow. In terms of pattern, I am mulling ways of representing this primaeval event as a 3D rather than a flat knitted textile. Mohair or angora might do what I want.

These are the colours for one end of the spectrum

This image I find really compelling. The light and the movement seem balletic, but belie the destructive force at its origin. Again, the coarse Icelandic yarn will form a firm base for moving fripperies in soft and shaggy yarns with very pronounced textures.

As a work in progress, it's rather exciting, but for the moment has to go onto the back burner. I don't really like that phrase, but it seems apt.

My attention needs to move to menus for Christmas, which is, as usual, a four day event rather than a drop-in day. As a food(ie) fanatic, I spend lots of time reading about food and pushing as many culinary boundaries as I can. I get immense pleasure from putting together things that are unusual; for example, Christmas Eve's menu is likely to comprise Spanish and Azerbaijani foods. I need to balance them, though. I have tested a couple of dishes, and am really pleased with a 'tapa' of chicken livers and grapes, as well as a green olive and anchovy pate. Yesterday I made for the first time my own pork scratchings, seasoned with Svaneti Salt - yum! And today, when I get back from the studio, I shall be essaying making bagels for the first time. May the day be long enough to finish all the processes!

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW US
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page