top of page

COMMON THREADS

Introducing... Sue G

I'm Sue (G) and I'm a weaver based in Sheffield. I've always enjoyed dabbling in drawing, painting and print making, and in making things from yarn and cloth. From an early age, my mother taught me to hand knit and to sew on our treadle Singer sewing machine. I made lots of clothes as a teenager and later on, in short bursts of enthusiasm, also for my children.

I studied ecology and have a love of the natural environment, especially the landscapes of the Lake District and of the west coast of Scotland. These enthusiasms now are providing the inspiration for much of my weaving.

I have been weaving for almost three years. On moving towards retirement I took a three day taster course in hand weaving and was absolutely hooked. I love the both the precision of the planning, and, in equal measure, the often unexpected results of yarn and colour combinations. The Bradford course has been a joyful opportunity to develop as a weaver, to learn design skills and to apply myself to the technical challenges of translating design ideas into successful textiles. The generosity and expertise of other textile designers and makers, first and foremost, my fellow students on the course, and more recently my local Guild, has been a huge resource to draw upon.

My final collection for Bradford is focused on interiors, in natural fibres, mostly wool and linen. My inspiration comes from Duddon Moss, a unique lowland raised bog in South Lakeland.

Double Weave from Sue G's final collection

I'm not sure where this weaving journey will take me. There is so much I want to explore and as I learn more so it expands.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW US
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page